HEA Launch €40 million North-South Research Programme 2021 

Maura O'Shea

By Maura O'Shea

Posted: 9 August, 2021

Books and money coins in the glass jar zoomed by the magnifying glass on blurred natural green background

A North-South Research Programme which aims to support the deepening of links between higher education institutions, researchers and research communities on the island of Ireland has been launched today by the Higher Education Authority (HEA). The programme is a collaborative scheme arising from the Government’s Shared Island initiative and it is being delivered by the Higher Education Authority (HEA) on behalf of the Department of Further and Higher Education, Research Innovation and Science (DFHERIS).  

The programme will have €40 million of funding available over a five-year period from 2021 and will specifically support collaborative research, innovation and development between individuals, research teams (in and between disciplines) as well as between higher education institutions on the island. The programme will support research which will be of economic and social benefit to the island of Ireland. The key principles of the programme are as follows: 

  • Strengthen research, innovation, development and collaboration in and between individuals and higher education institutions by rewarding innovation and excellence thereby enhancing the higher education sector, North and South; 
  • Enhance the research, teaching and learning continuum and the skills, quality and relevance of graduate output; 
  • Promote networks of excellence and partnerships of scale for research, innovation and development; 
  • Contribute to policy development relevant to the Shared Island initiative and benefiting enterprise and communities, north and south;  
  • Contribute to capacity building, place-making/innovation districts. 


Expressions of Interest for the programme are encouraged by 4pm on 1st September 2021. The deadline for applications to this programme is 4pm on 18th October and applications must be submitted via the online portal which will open on 6th September.   



Full details of the call are available here

Our use of cookies

We use necessary cookies to make our site work. We'd also like to set optional analytics cookies to help us improve it. We won't set these optional cookies unless you enable them. Using this tool will set a cookie on your device to remember your preferences.

For more detailed information about the cookies we use, see our Privacy Policy page

Necessary cookies

Necessary cookies enable core functionality such as security, network management, and accessibility. You may disable these by changing your browser settings, but this may affect how the website functions.

Analytics cookies

We'd like to set Google Analytics cookies to help us to improve our website by collecting and reporting information on how you use it. The cookies collect information in a way that does not directly identify anyone.