Office of CEO

Dr Graham Love

Chief Executive Officer

Dr. Graham Love recently joined the Higher Education Authority as Chief Executive Officer. Previously he led the Health Research Board and held senior management positions in a variety of organisations including Science Foundation Ireland and Accenture. He is a former member of the Science Gallery Board, Science Europe’s Governing Council and Enterprise Ireland’s Industrial Research & Commercialisation Committee.

Ms Jacintha Healy

Office of CEO, Programme Manager and Communications

Tel: +353 1 2317112


Mr Malcolm Byrne

Head of Communications

Tel: +353 1 231 7100

Malcolm has been responsible for the HEA’s communications and public affairs strategy since 2007. He has examined the education systems of Canada (Dobbin ICUF scholarship, 2012) and Australia (Endeavour Fellowship, 2014). A graduate in law and in arbitration from UCD, he previously held a variety of posts including with Chambers Ireland, as the first commercial manager with and as Chief Executive of Community Games. He has served as Chair of Wexford County Council, as Vice-President of the National Youth Council of Ireland and as Education Officer with the Union of Students in Ireland. He was named as one of the EU European Young Leaders for 2014.

Ms Maura O'Shea

Tel: +353 1 231 7133

National Office for Equity of Access Policy

Ms Caitríona Ryan

HEA Programme Manager and Head of National Access Policy Office

Caitríona Ryan is Head of Access Policy in the HEA.  Working with the Department of Education and Skills, Caitríona has responsibility for several projects in the implementation of the National Access Plan, 2015 – 2019.  Caitríona has worked in the HEA for 14 years and was formerly Head of Policy & Planning.  Previously, she held positions in Deloitte & Touche Management Consultants, the Department of Enterprise and Employment and the Department of Health and Children.

Ms Orla Christle

Senior Policy Analyst

Ms Emer Musonda

Ms Rose Sweeney

Tel: +353 1 2317204

System Funding

Ms Sheena Duffy

Interim Head of System Funding

Mr Stewart Roche

Management Accountant

Ms Jennifer Gygax

Senior Manager - Universities/Other Institutions

Ms Sorcha Carthy

Senior Manager - Institutes of Technology and DIT

Mr Niall O'Connell

Mr Neil Mc Dermott

Dr Eavan O'Brien

Ms Patricia Carroll

Ms Modesta Mawarire

Ms Gemma Duke

Ms Debbie Walsh

System Governance and Performance Management

Mr Tim Conlon

Interim Head of System Governance and Performance Management

Ms Valerie Harvey

Head of Performance Evaluation

Mr Mark Kirwan

Ms Sarah Fitzgerald

Skills and Enterprise Engagement

Dr Vivienne Patterson

Head of Skills, Engagement and Statistics

Dr. Vivienne Patterson is Head of Skills, Engagement and Statistics at the Higher Education Authority. The section has responsibility for the management of the both the Springboard+ Programme, and the provision of national apprenticeships in higher education. Her role in the HEA involves active strategic engagement with agencies such as EI, IDA, IBEC and AmCham to strengthen the relationship between higher education promotion and future employment and innovation. Vivienne played a key role in the development of the National Student Engagement Survey and the National Employers Survey and while leading the Statistics Section was responsible for several publications including “What Do Graduates Do?”, “Key Facts and Figures”, “A Study of Non-Progression in Irish Higher Education” and “Higher Education System Performance: Institutional and Sectoral Profiles”.  Before joining the HEA Vivienne worked as a Senior Researcher in the Skills Initiative Unit and as an Education Consultant with the Skills and Labour Market Research Unit of SOLAS where she implemented the education arm of the National Skills Database.

Mr Alan McGrath

Senior Manager, Skills and Engagement

Ms Louise Sherry

Senior Manager, Skills and Engagement Section

Mr Fergal Noone

Mr David Sheils

Ms Maria Cross

Statistics Section

Mr Victor Pigott

Senior Statistics Manager

Dr Dawn Carroll

Data and Policy Analyst

Ms Denise Frawley

Data and Policy Analyst

Dr Miriam Liston

Data and Policy Analyst

Mr John Horan

Database Developer

International Programmes

Mr Gerry O'Sullivan

Head of International Programmes

Gerry O’Sullivan is Head of International Education at the Higher Education Authority in Dublin.  He has served the Authority in many areas including as Head of Communications for the organisation. He has addressed many international fora and conferences including the Education and Culture Committee of the European Parliament; the FAUBAI Conference in Brazil and many meetings in Germany, Brussels, the UK, Jordan, Russia and Austria. He is currently the Chair of the Erasmus+ Working Group on Persons with Disability and has been a member of the Bologna Working Group on Internationalisation and Mobility.  He is also a member of the European Higher Education Area Advisory Group on International Co-operation and the EHEA Working Group on New Goals.

Gerry holds a Bachelor Degree in European Studies from the University of Limerick, a Master Degree in Communications and Cultural Studies from Dublin City University and a Professional Diploma in Irish from University College Dublin.

Ms Mary May

Ms Mary Dunne

Ms Mariana Reis De Almeida

Ms Patricia Tutty

Policy and Strategic Planning and Research

Dr Gemma Irvine

Head of Policy and Strategic Planning

Ms Nicki O'Connor

Senior Policy Advisor

Please email

Corporate Affairs

Mr Padraic Mellett

Head Of Corporate Affairs

Padraic Mellett is a Head of Corporate Affairs and is responsible for HR, governance, IT and the HEA’s own finances. He is also Secretary to the Authority. He graduated from UL with a BA in European Studies and subsequently UCD (MBA) and DCU (MBS-HR). He is an Associate Member of the Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators and a Chartered Member of the Institute of Personnel and Development.

Human Resources and Accounts

Mr Brian Johnston

Accounts and Procurement

Tel: +353 1 231 7120

Ms Jenny Maguire

HR and Facilities

Tel: +353 1 2317121

Mr Graham Barry

Tel: +353 1 231 7170

Ms Shauna Brennan

Tel: +353 1 231 7100

Ms Karolina-Anna Siedlik

Senior Executive Officer

Tel: +353 1 231 7122

Dr Dorota Migocka-Sendlak

Executive Officer / Accounts and Procurement

Tel: +353 1 231 7124


Mr Gerry McEntee

Tel: +353 1 2317194

Mr Allen King

Mr John Spencer


Ms Caroline Curtis

Ms Bridget Kelly

Email our staff: first_name_initial surname

Organisation Chart January 2018