

HEA Advisory Group on Ending Sexual Violence and Harassment in Irish Higher Education Institutions

In April 2019, the Department of Education and Skills published <u>Safe, Respectful, Supportive and Positive</u> – <u>Ending Sexual Violence and Harassment in Irish Higher Education Institutions</u>, more commonly referred to as the Framework for Consent in Irish Higher Education Institutions. The primary focus of this framework is to address issues of sexual violence and harassment on Irish higher education campuses. In August 2020, the Minister for Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science, Simon Harris TD, expanded the remit of the HEA's Centre of Excellence for Gender Equality to cover Equality, Diversity and Inclusion and to include oversight of the implementation of the Framework for Consent.

An Advisory Group was established to advise the HEA on policy relating to addressing sexual violence and harassment in Irish higher education institutions (HEIs), including but not limited to, the implementation of the Framework for Consent. Current membership of the Advisory Group is as follows:

Dr Anna Bull	Lecturer, University of York; Member of the 1752 Group
Dr Emer Cahill	Programme Manager, Irish Research Council (IRC)
Olivia Clarke	Principal Officer, Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) unit, Department of Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science
Aoife McDermott	Assistant Principal, Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) unit, Department of Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science
Prof Louise Crowley	Bystander Intervention Programme, University College Cork (UCC)
Mary Crilly	Co-Founder and CEO of the Sexual Violence Centre Cork
Gearoid Hodgins	Director of Corporate Affairs, Technological Higher Education Association (THEA)
Marie Keenan	Associate Professor, University College Dublin (UCD)
Dr Pádraig MacNeela	Active* Consent Programme, University of Galway
Kathleen Maher	Sexual Violence and Harassment (SVH) Prevention and Response Manager, Mary Immaculate College
Tony McMahon	Associate Director HR and EDI, Irish Universities Association (IUA)
Gemma MacNally	Student Counsellor, University of Galway; Psychological Counsellors in Higher Education in Ireland (PCHEI) representative
Colette Murphy	Vice-President for Welfare, Union of Students in Ireland (USI)
Tom Reilly	Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) Manager, Atlantic Technological University (ATU) Sligo
Dr Sinéad Ring	Assistant Professor, Maynooth University
Dr Cliona Saidlear	Executive Director, Rape Crisis Network Ireland (RCNI)



Ivanna Youtchak	Violence against Women Coordinator, National Women's Council of Ireland (NWCI)
Dr Jennie Rothwell	Senior Manager, Centre of Excellence for Equality, Diversity and
(Chair)	Inclusion, Higher Education Authority (HEA)
Suzanne Walker	Senior Executive Officer, Centre of Excellence for Equality,
(Secretariat)	Diversity and Inclusion, Higher Education Authority (HEA)