

Dr Patricia Mulcahy, President, Institute of Technology Carlow, Kilkenny Road, Carlow, R93 V960.

Professor Willie Donnelly, President, Waterford Institute of Technology, Main Campus Cork Road, Waterford, X91 KOEK.

19 November 2021

Re: TUSEI Technological University Application

Dear Presidents,

Thank you for your letter of 16 November in respect of the Technological University application by the TUSEI consortium.

It is encouraging to hear of the work that has progressed since the review by the appointed Advisory Panel in July 2021, and particularly the advancement and stress testing of the implementation plan which aligns with the recommendations within the Advisory Panel report. The addition of external expertise to assist in the preparation phase is welcome.

We expect that the Minister will in the coming days outline next steps to address any outstanding requirements in respect of the granting of an application under the 2018 Act. It is likely that this will require the presentation of evidence in relation to integrated, coherent and effective governance structures in place concerning academic, administration and management matters such as set out in the Minister's letter of 2 November.

While the inclusion of Grant Thornton in the process is noted, it is expected that the engagement will be managed at the highest level within the consortium and overseen by the Governing Body, as suggested by the HEA Board. The participation of the Presidents and Governing Body Chairs of both applicant institutes in these next steps is therefore essential, along with any additional representative(s) that the consortium deems appropriate.

The designated point of contact for the engagement with the HEA is Dr Louise Callinan and she will contact the consortium directly to convene a meeting to discuss the process ahead.

We look forward to working with the consortium in the period ahead and express our appreciation in advance for the full co-operation of the consortium with the process.

Yours sincerely,

Dr Alan Wall Chief Executive

Cc Mr Simon Harris, T.D., Minister for Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science

Mr Michael Horgan, Chair, Higher Education Authority Mr John Moore, Chair, Governing Body, Institute of Technology Carlow Mr Jim Moore, Chair, Governing Body, Waterford Institute of Technology