

## HEA Advisory Group on Ending Sexual Violence and Harassment in Irish Higher Education Institutions

In April 2019, the Department of Education and Skills published <u>Safe, Respectful, Supportive and Positive</u> — <u>Ending Sexual Violence and Harassment in Irish Higher Education Institutions</u>, more commonly referred to as the Framework for Consent in Irish Higher Education Institutions. The primary focus of this framework is to address issues of sexual violence and harassment on Irish higher education campuses. In August 2020, the Minister for Further and Higher Education, Research, Innovation and Science, Simon Harris TD, expanded the remit of the HEA's Centre of Excellence for Gender Equality to cover Equality, Diversity and Inclusion and to include oversight of the implementation of the Framework for Consent.

An Advisory Group was established to advise the HEA on policy relating to addressing sexual violence and harassment in Irish higher education institutions (HEIs), including but not limited to, the implementation of the Framework for Consent. Current membership of the Advisory Group is as follows:

Dr Amanda McCloat	President St Angela's College, Sligo
Dr Anna Bull	Lecturer, University of York; International Advisor and co-director of The 1752 Group
Dr Bernadette Quinn	Senior Lecturer in the College of Arts & Tourism, Technological University Dublin
Dr Cliona Saidlear	Executive Director at Rape Crisis Network Ireland (RCNI)
Enda Hughes	Principal Officer, Equality, Diversity and Inclusion Unit, Department of Further and Higher, Education, Research, Innovation and Science
Jennifer McCarthy Flynn	Head of Policy, National Women's Council of Ireland (NWCI)
Prof Louise Crowley	Bystander Intervention Programme, University College Cork (UCC)
Noeline Blackwell	CEO, Dublin Rape Crisis Centre
Dr Pádraig MacNeela	Active Consent Programme, University of Galway
Dr Rochelle Fritch	Scientific Programme Manager, Science Foundation Ireland (SFI)
Róisín O'Connell	Head of Communications, Technological Higher education Association (THEA)
Dr Ross Woods (Chair)	Senior Manager, Centre of Excellence for Equality Diversity and Inclusion, Higher Education Authority (HEA)
Sarah Behan (since July 2022)	Vice-President for Welfare, Union of Students in Ireland (USI) (formerly Clare Austick to June 2021, and Somhairle Brennan from July 2021 to June 2022)
Dr Sinéad Ring	Assistant Professor in Law, Maynooth University
Suzanne Walker (since June 2022)	Centre of Excellence for Equality Diversity and Inclusion, HEA
(Secretariat)	(formerly Aedin Minogue, Centre of Excellence for Equality Diversity and Inclusion, HEA)
Thomas Clonan (to April 2022)	Lecturer, Media at TU Dublin / Author of "Women in Combat: The status and roles assigned female personnel in the Permanent Defence Forces"
Tom Reilly	Equality, Diversity and Inclusion (EDI) Manager, Atlantic Technological University (ATU), Sligo
Tony McMahon	Associate Director HR & EDI, Irish Universities Association (IUA)
Treasa Fox (since August 2022)	Head of Student Counselling, TUS Midlands / Chair of PCHEI (Psychological Counsellors in Higher Education Ireland)
	(formerly Gertie Raftery, Head of Student Counselling, DkIT and Chair of PCHEI)